StorY 

For us, snowboarding is part of winter like the peak is part of the mountain. This is where we like to spend our free time. We are Johannes, Jakob and Matthias - three friends from Munich and the founders of CLEW.

It all started on a snowy winter day... In the chairlift, Jakob and Johannes talked about the annoying strapping and unstrapping of the binding. At the time, the two were studying mechanical engineering together with a focus on product development. They agree: there has to be a better solution. The friends discuss various options - and have a brilliant idea.

In the following weeks Jakob and Johannes tested and developed several binding concepts. At the end, a simple but ingenious idea prevails - a solution that combines all the advantages of traditional bindings in one product: the unique two-part CLEW system is born.
Convinced of their solution and with great anticipation of the coming winter, the two decide to start a company with their friend Matthias.

What does the name CLEW mean? CLEW is a combination of clever and new. CLEW combines precision with freedom, creativity with style and finally the snowboarder with his board.

"We want to show everyone how much fun snowboarding is, by making it more comfortable and accessible!"

What we achived so far:

ISPO Award Gold Winner

42 jury members from 13 countries and three continents have awarded the CLEW binding as Gold Winner in the category Snowboard Equipment! 

Jan 2020
pre rider 2019

Finally the time has come, our first production model has been delivered!  

Dec 2019
Company founding of the CLEW GmbH 

After advanced development and very successful test rides, the founding team enters the business world.

  Mar 2019
A milestone has been reached;
CLEW gets the EXIST-funding 
 

Thanks to the business start-up grant for innovative technologies, the three founders can work on their project full time for a whole year.

  Nov 2018
First place „Strascheg Award 201 7"  

At the Ideas Competition of the University of Applied Sciences Munich, the snowboard binding is awarded as the "Best Business Idea from a University Course".

  Oct 2017
 The Idea for a well-known problem is born  

At university, Johannes and Jakob are developing the concept of a two-part snowboard binding. A first prototype is created using 3D printing.

  May 2017

Our TEAM

Mitarbeiter des Unternehmens


Johannes Weckerle, Product design

Johannes is the creative mind at CLEW. As a product designer, he takes care of the construction and production of snowboard bindings. After completing his training as a technician, he studied mechanical engineering with a focus on product development at the University of Munich. He paused his master's degree in Industrial Design at the Technical University of Munich, so that CLEW and his snowboard bindings could become a reality.

Mitarbeiter des Unternehmens


Jakob Schneider,
Product Development

Jakob is the all-rounder at CLEW. With his creativity and a critical eye for detail, he dedicates himself to technical development and quality management. Like Johannes, he studied mechanical engineering at the Munich University of Applied Sciences. Jakob was just doing his master's degree in Applied Research in Engineering when he seized the opportunity to turn his passion for snowboarding into a profession as a product developer.

Mitarbeiter des Unternehmens


Matthias Albrecht,
Finances

Matthias is the man for the numbers at CLEW. The IHK industrial clerk and master’s graduate in Business Administration focuses on finance and operational activities. Thanks to his practical training and more than 8 years of professional experience in various industries (aerospace, automotive, electronics and pharmaceuticals), he brings with him a wide range of knowledge in almost every business management topics.

Mitarbeiter des Unternehmens


Anna Weckerle,
Brand Design

Anna, the big sister of Johannes, is a freelance graphic designer. As a team member of CLEW, she is responsible for graphic and brand design. Anna completed a training as a communication designer at the Hamburg Technical Art School and completed a master's degree in “Visual Brand Design” from the Domus Academy in Milan.

Alles begann mit einer einfachen Idee für

ein lang bekanntes Problem…

Story 

Snowboarden gehört für uns zum Winter wie der Gipfel zum Berg. Dort verbringen wir unsere freie Zeit am liebsten. Wir – das sind Jakob, Johannes und Matthias. Snowboarder, Freunde und Gründer von CLEW. 

Angefangen hat alles an einem weißen Wintertag… Im Sessellift reden Jakob und Johannes darüber, dass das ewige An- und Abschnallen vom Board extrem nervt. Die beiden studieren zu der Zeit zusammen Maschinenbau mit Schwerpunkt Produktentwicklung. Sie sind sich einig: Es muss eine bessere Lösung geben. Die Freunde diskutieren verschiedene Möglichkeiten – und haben eine geniale Idee.

In den Wochen darauf testen Jakob und Johannes verschiedene Snowboard-Bindungen, entwickeln und prüfen Konzepte. Immer wieder setzt sich ihre erste Idee durch. Aus ihr wird die einzigartige zweiteilige CLEW Bindung. Zusammen mit ihrem Freund Matthias gründen die beiden das Startup CLEW.

Was bedeutet der Name CLEW? CLEW setzt sich zusammen aus clever und new und laut ausgesprochen wird daraus der Clou. CLEW verbindet Präzision mit Freiheit, Kreativität mit Style und schließlich den Snowboarder mit seinem Board.

“Wir wollen das Snowboarden für alle attraktiver und einfacher machen!”

Was bisher geschah:

ISPO Award Gold Winner

42 Jurymitglieder aus 13 Ländern haben die CLEW Bindung als Gold Winner in der Kategorie Snowboard Equipment ausgezeichnet 

Jan 2020
pre rider 2019

Endlich ist es so weit, das erste Serienmodell ist ausgeliefert  

Dez 2019
gRÜNDUNG der CLEW GmbH 

Nach fortgeschrittener Entwicklung und sehr erfolgreichen Testfahrten betritt das Gründerteam die Geschäftswelt  

  Mrz 2019
Ein Meilenstein: CLEW ist EXIST-Team:   

Dank des staatlichen Stipendiums für innovative Technologien können die Gründer sich ein Jahr in Vollzeit ihrem Projekt widmen  

  Nov 2018
Erster Platz "strascheg Award 2017"  

Beim Ideenwettbewerb der Hochschule München wird die Snowboardbindung als „Beste Geschäftsidee aus einer Lehrveranstaltung“ ausgezeichnet  

  Okt 2017
Die Idee ist geboren:  

In der Uni entwickeln Johannes und Jakob das Konzept einer zweiteiligen Snowboardbindung. Ein erster Prototyp entsteht im 3D-Druck-Verfahren  

  Mai 2017

Unser TEAM

Mitarbeiter des Unternehmens


Johannes Weckerle, Produktdesign

Johannes ist der kreative Tüftler bei CLEW. Als Produktdesigner kümmert er sich sowohl um die Konstruktion und Produktion der Snowboard Bindungen. Nach seiner Ausbildung zum Techniker hat er Maschinenbau mit Schwerpunkt Produktentwicklung an der Hochschule München studiert. Sein Masterstudium in Industrial Design an der TU München hat er pausiert, damit CLEW und seine Snowboard Bindungen Realität werden konnten.

Mitarbeiter des Unternehmens


Jakob Schneider, Produktentwicklung

Jakob ist der Allrounder bei CLEW. Mit seiner Kreativität und dem kritischen Auge fürs Detail widmet er sich der technischen Entwicklung und dem Qualitätsmanagement. Er hat – wie Johannes – an der Hochschule München Maschinenbau studiert. Jakob steckte gerade in seinem Master in Angewandte Forschung in den Ingenieurswissenschaften, als er die Chance ergriff, seine Leidenschaft Snowboarden als Produktentwickler zum Beruf zu machen.

Mitarbeiter des Unternehmens


Matthias Albrecht,
Finanzen

Matthias ist der Mann für die Zahlen bei CLEW. Der IHK-Industriekaufmann und Masterabsolvent der Betriebswirtschaftslehre hat seinen Schwerpunkt im Bereich Finanzen und operative Tätigkeiten. Durch seine praxisnahe Ausbildung und mehr als 8-jährige Berufserfahrung in verschiedenen Branchen (Aerospace, Automotive, Elektronik und Pharma) bringt er ein breites Wissen in nahezu allen betriebswirtschaftlichen Themengebieten mit.

Mitarbeiter des Unternehmens


Anna Weckerle,
Brand Design

Anna, die große Schwester von Johannes, ist freiberufliche  Grafikdesignerin . Als Teammitglied von CLEW ist sie für Grafik- und Branddesign verantwortlich. Anna hat eine Ausbildung zur Kommunikationsdesignerin an der Hamburger Technischen Kunstschule und ein Masterstudium in „Visual Brand Design“ an der Domus Academy in Mailand gemacht.